Potential

Ever have that moment when you look out on a space and start dreaming of all the things you could do with it?

That’s kind of where my head has been at these last few months. Instead of seeing life in terms of what was, I’ve been thinking in terms of what could be. Forget about the things I lost, or didn’t achieve. What can I work towards? What might I find over that hill?

That, of course, brings me to the garden. 2014 was a great year for tomatoes in my spot.

20140810_172128

First, they were green and lost somewhere in all those leaves. Then, they were lovely and red and oh so tasty.

20140921_085336

These were the last ones from the garden this year. perfect tomato crop after a disappointing one last year. What was different? How I went about planting. How I thought about what was possible. Now I know what I can achieve there. Now I’m ready to try even more. So, for 2015, I’m trying multiple varieties; I’ve got cherry and grape tomato seeds, as well as some heirloom types. I’m going to start them early indoors again, so I have strong plants to put outside. Can’t wait.

 

Sunflowers grew well again.

20140921_085501

I started these outdoors again, and they grew nice and big. But they still seem to need support, so I’m thinking and studying ways to give them everything they need to make them even better. And I have a couple of varieties of these, too. Plan to try them next year.

 

Tried carrots.20140921_085150  Tried green peppers. 20140921_085254

Both showed me it was possible. I just have to do my research and try harder. Incidentally, I got tons of hot, spicy peppers, just no bell peppers.

Even managed to get potatoes. 20140621_175858  Next year, spuds. Next year.

So what did I learn? I learned that everything I do has the possibility of being great and/or teaching me how to be great in the future. Now, I’m hoping to use what I’ve learned to start a garden at my school. I already have a few kids interested and ready to get dirty digging in the soil, city boys, no less. I’m hoping to use what I’ve learned about permaculture to revamp my own garden space. I’ve got a few perennial plants that need permanent homes and companions.

I am just so ready for 2015. So much potential out there, just waiting to be tapped.

[All of the photos are mine, by the way, taken with my cell phone camera.]

Leave a Reply

